- General Standards has 50 questions; you need 70% correct to pass, closed book.
- ADAI paper testing costs $75; Metro computer testing costs $125 ($75 state fee plus $50 admin fee).
- Metro computer testing allows one hour and requires a Testing ID and photo ID before you sit down.
- Fail on Metro and you wait 10 days before retesting - plan your schedule accordingly.
Exam Facts at a Glance
The General Standards/CORE (GS) exam is the foundational test inside Alabama's Custom Pesticide Applicator examination program, administered by the Alabama Department of Agriculture and Industries (ADAI) through its Pesticide Management Certification Unit. It is not a standalone credential - it's the common core that pairs with whichever category exam and application-mode exam (Ground Equipment or Aerial) your intended permit route requires. If you're still sorting out where GS fits relative to those other exams, the AL-PEST Requirements 2026 guide breaks down the full eligibility chain.
- Governing rule: The eight content areas are defined by Rule 80-1-13-.08(3).
- Question count: 50 questions on General Standards.
- Time limit: Metro computer testing allows one hour.
- Passing score: 70%. Full breakdown at AL-PEST Passing Score 2026.
- Format: Closed book, no reference materials at the desk.
- Study material: Commercial Pesticide Applicator General Standards and Recertification manual, plus the appropriate category and application-mode materials.
The 8 Content Areas You Must Know Cold
Every question on the General Standards exam traces back to one of eight content areas under Rule 80-1-13-.08(3). Treat this list as your master checklist - if you can't explain each domain in a sentence or two without looking it up, that's your next study session. For a deeper walkthrough of each area, see the AL-PEST Exam Domains 2026 guide.
Domain 1: Label and Labeling Comprehension
Reading and interpreting pesticide labels correctly - signal words, precautionary statements, restricted-entry intervals, application rates, and what's legally binding on the label versus supplemental labeling.
- Know the difference between the label and labeling
Domain 2: Safety Factors
Personal protective equipment, exposure routes, first aid response, and safe handling, mixing, and storage practices for pesticide products.
- Match PPE requirements to signal words and formulations
Domain 3: Environment
How pesticides move through soil, water, and air, plus the environmental precautions applicators must take to avoid contamination and off-target drift.
- Understand runoff, leaching, and drift risk factors
Domain 4: Pests
General pest identification, biology, and behavior concepts that apply across categories, distinct from the category-specific pest knowledge tested separately.
- Recognize pest life cycles and general control principles
Domain 5: Pesticides
Pesticide classifications, formulations, modes of action, and compatibility issues that every commercial applicator needs regardless of category.
- Know formulation types and how they affect application choices
Domain 6: Equipment
Application equipment types, calibration basics, maintenance, and equipment selection appropriate to different pesticide jobs.
- Understand calibration math and equipment maintenance basics
Domain 7: Application Techniques
Proper methods for applying pesticides safely and effectively, including timing, weather considerations, and technique selection for the target site.
- Connect technique choice to site, pest, and weather conditions
Domain 8: Applicable State and Federal Laws and Regulations
The regulatory framework governing pesticide sale, use, certification, and enforcement in Alabama, including ADAI's authority and applicator responsibilities.
- Know who enforces what and where authority comes from
Key Takeaway
Domains 1, 2, and 8 (labels, safety, and law) tend to carry the most transferable weight because they reappear conceptually inside category exams too - master these first.
Registration and Fee Mechanics
The fee mechanics here trip up more candidates than the content does. There are two distinct testing paths, and they are not interchangeable in price or process.
- ADAI paper testing: $75 per exam. Simple calculators are permitted during paper testing.
- Metro Institute computer testing: $125 per exam, which breaks down as the $75 state fee plus a $50 administration fee charged by the testing vendor.
- Testing ID requirement: Computer testing happens only at approved testing centers - not at home. Candidates must obtain ADAI approval and a Testing ID before they can schedule and pay for a slot with Metro.
- Identification: Bring current government-issued photo identification to any testing session, paper or computer.
Test Day Logistics Cheat Sheet
Print this section if nothing else. These are the operational details that catch people off guard on the day itself.
- Closed book: No manuals, notes, or reference sheets at the desk during either testing format.
- Calculators: Simple calculators are allowed for ADAI paper testing specifically.
- Time limit: Metro computer testing gives you one hour for the 50-question General Standards exam - pace yourself, but 50 questions in an hour is workable if you don't get stuck on any single item.
- Failed attempt on Metro: You must wait 10 days before you can retest. Build that into your planning if you're working against a permit deadline.
- Core is separate: Passing General Standards alone does not certify you. You still need the relevant category exam and, depending on the work you'll do, the Ground Equipment or Aerial application-mode exam.
If you're trying to gauge how much runway to leave yourself before a permit deadline or a seasonal work start date, check AL-PEST Exam Dates 2026 for scheduling windows, and see How Hard Is the AL-PEST Exam? if you want a realistic read on difficulty before committing to a test date.
After You Pass: Permits and Recertification
Passing the exam is not the finish line - it's the gate to the next set of deadlines.
- Score expiration: Apply for certification before your passing exam scores expire after one year. Sitting on a passed exam too long means retesting.
- Permit cost: The Commercial Pesticide Applicator Permit costs $45 per category.
- Recertification cycle: Maintain your certificate with 30 total approved continuing-education points across the certificate during a three-year cycle, with points covering applicable categories, or requalify by reexamination.
- Separate obligations: Business licensing and insurance requirements are handled outside the certification process - passing GS and holding a permit doesn't automatically satisfy those.
Key Takeaway
Treat the one-year score expiration as a hard deadline on your calendar the moment you pass - not something to revisit "eventually."
Who Actually Uses This Credential
General Standards/CORE certification underpins commercial pesticide application work across Alabama - from lawn and ornamental companies to structural pest control firms, forestry operations, and agricultural application businesses. Because GS is paired with a category exam rather than standing alone, the roles that require it vary by the category a business operates in. If you're evaluating whether this certification path lines up with your career goals, the AL-PEST Jobs overview and AL-PEST Salary Guide 2026 are useful next reads, and Is the AL-PEST Certification Worth It? walks through the return-on-investment question more broadly.
Last-Week Priority Review
If you only have a week left before your scheduled test, don't try to relearn everything evenly. Weight your remaining time toward the domains that carry the most conceptual overlap with your category exam and the ones candidates most often underestimate.
Labels, Safety, and Law
- Drill Domain 1 (label comprehension) and Domain 2 (safety factors) with practice questions
- Review Domain 8 regulatory basics - who ADAI is, what the permit and certificate cover
Pesticides, Pests, and Environment
- Work through formulation types and modes of action (Domain 5)
- Review pest biology basics (Domain 4) and environmental fate concepts (Domain 3)
Equipment and Application Technique
- Practice calibration and equipment maintenance questions (Domain 6)
- Review technique-selection scenarios tied to weather and site conditions (Domain 7)
Full Timed Run-Through
- Take a full 50-question timed practice session on the AL-PEST practice test platform under real one-hour conditions
- Confirm your Testing ID, photo ID, and appointment details are locked in
This is a compressed version of the fuller plan in the AL-PEST Study Guide 2026, which spreads the same content across a longer runway if you have more than a week to prepare.
Quick Reference: Paper vs. Computer Testing
| Detail | ADAI Paper Testing | Metro Computer Testing |
|---|---|---|
| Cost | $75 per exam | $125 per exam ($75 state fee + $50 admin fee) |
| Calculators | Simple calculators permitted | Not specified as permitted |
| Location | ADAI-administered sessions | Approved testing centers only, not at home |
| Pre-requirements | Standard registration | ADAI approval and Testing ID required before scheduling |
| Retest after failure | Follow ADAI scheduling | 10-day waiting period required |
| Time limit | Not separately specified | One hour |
FAQ
No. General Standards/CORE (GS) is the shared foundation exam covering the eight content areas under Rule 80-1-13-.08(3). You also need to pass the relevant category exam, and often a Ground Equipment or Aerial application-mode exam, depending on the permit you're pursuing.
General Standards has 50 questions, and you need to score 70% to pass. Metro computer testing gives you one hour to complete it.
If you fail a Metro computer exam, you must wait 10 days before you're eligible to retest. Use that window to revisit whichever domains gave you trouble rather than rescheduling immediately.
Simple calculators are permitted specifically for ADAI paper testing. Bring current government-issued photo identification regardless of which testing format you choose.
You must apply for certification before your passing scores expire after one year. Once certified, the Commercial Pesticide Applicator Permit costs $45 per category, and recertification requires 30 total approved continuing-education points across the certificate during a three-year cycle, or a qualifying reexamination.